Adventures in Advising

The beauty of getting a dual degree is that I have two advisors. Twice the advising, twice the fun. Except what two advisors really means is that each advisor gets to skirt their responsibilities (because the other one is doing it, right?) while remaining just as critical. Twice the criticism, half the helpful feedback.

A recent exchange with one advisor:

Advisor emails me: We haven’t talked in a while. Where have you been? I have no idea where you are in your dissertation. I can’t write letters of recommendation if I don’t know how you are progressing. Please make an appointment to see me.

Me (to myself, my partner, and various friends): WHERE HAVE I BEEN?! WRITING A FUCKING DISSERTATION. I SAW HER LITERALLY TWO WEEKS AGO. AND WRITE LETTERS FOR WHAT? THERE. ARE. NO. JOBS. [At this point in the job-seeking process, I am getting a little overdramatic.]

Me: Okay, I will see you in a week. Meanwhile, here are 4 chapters of my dissertation. Enjoy.

Advisor: Okay… I also have feedback from the job you didn’t get…

Me (to myself, my partner, and various friends): WHAT THE FUCK DOES THAT MEAN?! WHERE DID THAT FEEDBACK COME FROM? WHY IS SHE TAUNTING ME WITH IT?

[a week passes]

Advisor email last night: Can we postpone our meeting? I have been very busy and have not read your chapters. If we postpone a couple days, I will have better feedback.

Me (to myself, my partner, and various friends): %@#$(&^! ^&#($*^)(*(!! @#$%*&$%*#$U% #$^(&^&&*@#%^!

Me: My schedule is full the rest of the week. I would prefer we meet today.

Advisor: Okay, but we will need to meet again if you want feedback.

 

[to be continued…]

Leave a Reply

